Telkom, 947 and the City of Joburg #LoveCycling - it’s why we take over the city with over 30 000 bicycles once a year, and hand over the streets to anyone else who’s part of this crazy, special community who #LoveCycling too.

We’re inspired by the many different stories of why people #LoveCycling – from getting active, to setting Personal Bests (PBs) to testing themselves and pushing body and mind out of their comfort zones – we salute your determination and are proud to host you at this epic event each year.

Many of our participants use their Love for Cycling to show love for others, who may need a helping hand. The Ride for a Purpose initiative shares big love and raises millions of Rands each year through thousands of cyclists who often gear up in crazy outfits and add extra challenges to their ride, to raise funds for those in need. We love cyclists who give back!

Finally, we love winning! Every single rider who crosses the finish line has achieved something that most people will never dare to attempt – and it’s inspiring to watch you grit your teeth and pedal on. You are all winners in our book, but there’s a small group of elite cyclists at the very top of their game which elevate riding a bike to an art.

The Telkom 947 Cycle Challenge women’s race has been granted UCI 1.1 status for the last two years and attracts athletes who are the best in the world – it is a privilege to watch these riders glide through our streets, and you make us #LoveCycling even more!

So these are just some of the reasons we #LoveCycling – and soon we’ll be asking you why you do too @947Cycle or on Facebook. Spread the love!

Related News

The Coffee Stop: Boost your base miles to make 2019 a standout

According to our expert, putting in the long yards now, means you'll be in better shape when cycle time is in short supply.

Have bike, will holiday!

The holiday season is an awkward one for cyclists. You must take time off work, but time off the bike?

"The Cav" edits Cyclopedia for us!

As we sprint to the finish of 2018, we secured one of the world's best sprinters to edit our year-ending edition of Cyclopedia.