Ride for a Purpose

Use the Telkom 947 Cycle Challenge to Ride for a Purpose greater than your personal goals. Whether you’re raising awareness of funds for a cause, cycling in memory of a loved one or riding for a cause close to your heart, the spirit of the event encourages riders to open their hearts as they take to the roads.

For Individuals

If the idea of using your love for cycling to make the world a better place appeals to you, then join hundreds of people of pedalling to making a difference.

In 2017, 116 charities registered and raised R15.2 million for their causes. Furthermore, since its inception in 2011, the total raised to date is a staggering R82.1 million!

This year, the Cycle Challenge has once again reserved 4 charity start groups. It means not only can you ride with your friends or fellow activists but you could also be eligible for an earlier start time.

Steps:

1)   Select a charity from the list below
2)   Contact the Team Leader directly to find out what their fundraising requirements and entry requirements are

For Charities

If you are a charity that would like to register to be eligible to register your charity bond, please contact Debbie Mabule: 011 017 2700 or charityentries@hsp.co.za for more information.

The Telkom 947 Cycle Challenge is proud to support the following organisations through the Ride for a Purpose platform in 2018:

Charity NameTeam leaderEmail AddressWebsite
Rare Activists Shevaun McCreedy events@rarediseases.co.za http://www.rarediseases.co.za
The Recovery Foundation Roberto Ferreira roberto@therecoveryfoundation.org.za http://www.therecoveryfoundation.org.za
San Salvador Home Ann Pearton annpearton@gmail.com http://www.sansalvadorhome.org
Qhubeka Jennifer Mathe jennifer@qhubeka.org http://www.qhubeka.org
Flying for Life Gabriella Szabo info@flyingforlife.co.za http://www.flyingforlife.co.za
The Cows Karen Saunders daisy@thecows.co.za http://www.thecows.co.za
Muscle Riders Robert Scott mdfgauteng@mdsa.org.za http://www.mdfgauteng.org
Baragwanath Paediatric Burns Unit Linda Kloeck linda@resus.co.za http://www.baraburnsunit.co.za
Cystic Fibrosis Association Central Alan Dunn alanfdunn@gmail.com http://www.sacfa.org.za
Stepping Stone Hospice Judy Joubert judyj@absa.co.za http://www.steppingstonehospice.co.za
Smile Foundation Chloe Torr chloe@smilefoundationsa.org http://www.smilefoundationsa.org
SanParks Honorary Rangers Susan O'Brien susan@manshau.co.za http://www.sanparksvolunteers.org
More Balls Than Most Nelius du Preez nelius@pinkdrive.co.za http://www.mbtm.co.za
Rays of Hope Kirstin Barwise kirstin@raysofhope.co.za http://www.raysofhope.co.za
Pink Drive NPC Nelius du Preez nelius@pinkdrive.co.za http://www.pinkdrive.co.za
Project Naledi Brendan Whyte brendan.whyte@pinsentmasons.com http://www.pinsentmason.com
Abraham Kriel Bambanani Ricci Boonzaaier rb@abrahamkriel.org http://www.abrahamkriel.org
Surgeons for Little Lives Lauren Frew lauren@surgeonsforlittlelives.org http://www.surgeonsforlittlelives.org
National SPCA Patricia Jardine patj@gessa.co.za http://www.nspca.co.za
Thandulwazi Trust Bev Johnson teamthandulwazi@stithian.com http://www.thandulwazi.com
Hervormde Kerk Springs Oos Evette Botha evettebotha26@gmail.com http://
Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre Ansie Coetser lente.roode@cheetahcentre.co.za http://www.hesc.co.za
Wollies Animal Project Carla De Beer carla@ledwabas.co.za http://www.wollies.org
The Joost Centre for Neurodegeneration Claire Kaye-Grobler claire@joost.co.za http://www.joost.co.za
Trojans Neurological Trust Caitlin Tracey trojansneurologicaltrust@gmail.com http://www.tntsa.co.za
Joburg Child Welfare Siphosethu Ngwenya communications@jhbchildwelfare.org.za http://www.jhbchildwelfare.co.za
Apricot Tree Trust Annette van Niekerk fundraising@apricottree.co.za http://www.apricottree.co.za
Border Collie Rescue Gillian Pearson gillypearson1@gmail.com http://www.facebook.com/collierescuesa
SOS Childrens Villages SA Cherie Cusens events@sos.org.za http://www.sossouthafrica.org.za
Moving Mountains Nika Coertzen nika.n@curro.co.za https://thebarleylifeblog.com/2017/11/08/moving-mountains/ [https://www.backabuddy.co.za/947-for-moving-mountains](https://www.backabuddy.co.za/947-for-moving-mountains)
The Love Trust Hlengiwe Shakung hlengiwes@lovetrust.co.za http://www.lovetrust.co.za
Teddy Bear Foundation Margaret Hoffman cyclechallenge947@ttbc.org.za http://www.ttbc.org.za
Organ Donor Foundation Keith Weeder keith@odf.org.za http://www.odf.org.za
Cape Dachshund Rescue Hedy Carmody CDR947Cycle@gmail.com http://capedachshunds.wix.com/cape-dachshund
The Paige Project David Barson cycle@thepaigeproject.co.za http://www.thepaigeproject.co.za
The Reach For A Dream Foundation - Dream Riders Janine Shamos janine@reachforadream.org.za http://www.reachforadream.org.za
The Sushi and Panda Foundation Megan Taylor megan@thesushiandpandafoundation.co.za https://www.facebook.com/thesushiandpandafoundation/
SANZAF - South African National Zakah Fund Mohammed Khan mohammed.khan@sanzaf.org.za http://www.sanzaf.org.za
Gateway Society Pat Coleman pat@gatewaysociety.co.za http://www.gatewaysociety.co.za