Ride for a Purpose

Use the Telkom 947 Cycle Challenge to Ride for a Purpose greater than your personal goals. Whether you’re raising awareness of funds for a cause, cycling in memory of a loved one or riding for a cause close to your heart, the spirit of the event encourages riders to open their hearts as they take to the roads.

For Individuals

If the idea of using your love for cycling to make the world a better place appeals to you, then join hundreds of people of pedaling to making a difference.

In 2016, 115 charities registered and raised R13.4 million for their causes. Furthermore, since its inception in 2011, the total raised to date is a staggering R66.9 million!

This year, the Cycle Challenge has once again reserved 5 charity start groups. It means not only can you ride with your friends or fellow activists but you could also be eligible for an earlier start time.

Steps:

  1. Select a charity from the list below
  2. Contact the Team Leader directly to find out what their fundraising requirements and entry requirements are

For Charities

If you are a charity that would like to register to be eligible to register your charity bond, please contact Nondwe Maqubela: 011 017 2700 or nondwe@hsp.co.za for more information.

Watch this space for a list of charities that you’ll be able to join.

Charity NameTeam leaderEmail AddressWebsite
San Salvador Home Ann Pearton pearton@icon.co.za http://www.sansalvadorhome.org
RARE ACTIVists Shevaun McCreedy events@rarediseases.co.za http://www.rarediseases.co.za
The Paige Project David Barson cycle@thepaigeproject.co.za http://www.thepaigeproject.co.za
Dream Riders/Reach for a Dream Alicia Roffey alicia@reachforadream.org.za http://www.dreamriders.co.za
Qhubeka Chris Lewis events.admin@qhubeka.org http://www.qhubeka.org
The Cows Helen Melville daisy@thecows.co.za http://www.thecows.co.za
Smile Foundation Chloe Torr cyclechallenge@smilefoundationsa.org http://www.smilefoundationsa.org
Trojans Neurological Trust Caitlin Tracey caitbiokinetics@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/TROJANSNEUROLOGICALTRUST/?hc_ref=SEARCH&fref=nf
Stepping Stone Hospice Judy Joubert judy.joubert@absa.co.za http://steppingstonehospice.co.za/947
A Kidney Beanz Trust Megan Frye info@kidneybeanz.co.za http://www.kidneybeanz.co.za
Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre Ansie Coetser lente.roode@cheetahcentre.co.za http://www.hesc.co.za
Surgeons for Little Lives Lauren Frew lauren@surgeonsforlittlelives.org http://www.surgeonsforlittlelives.org
Thandulwazi Trust Bev Johnson teamthandulwazi@stithian.com http://www.thandulwazi.com
Creating Educational Opportunities (CEO) Jaco Theunissen ajtheunissen@live.com http://www.creatingeducationalopportunities.org
Teddy Bear Foundation Margie Hoffman cyclechallenge947@ttbc.org.za http://www.ttbc.org.za
Team National SPCA Jaco Pieterse comms@nspca.co.za http://www.nspca.co.za
CANSA Active Stephan Brink sbrink@cansa.org.za http://www.cansa.org.za
Rainbows and Smiles Bonita Suckling bonni@rainbowsandsmiles.org.za http://www.rainbowsandsmiles.org.za
HOPE worldwide SA Keith Marais dalton.marais@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/HOPEworldwidesa.org/
PinkDrive Nelius du Preez nelius@pinkdrive.co.za http://www.pinkdrive.co.za
Niki Duarte Project Carlos Camara cagcamara@gmail.com http://www.nikiduarteproject.co.za
Ependy Angels Sharyn O'Neill info@ependyangels.co.za https://web.facebook.com/Ependy-Angels-308342152666680/
Muscle Riders (Muscular Dystrophy Foundation Gauteng Robert Scott mdfgauteng@mdsa.org.za http://www.mdfgauteng.org
Everybody Love Everybody Lucy Gemmell lucy@ele.org.za http://www.ele.org.za
Bethany House Trust Bev Blake beverley.blake@icloud.com http://www.childincrisis.org.za
Apricot Tree School Rebecca Sands becky@netactive.co.za http://www.facebook.com/apricottreecoza/
You and Me vs MND Kevin Jordan youandme.vs.mnd@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/YouandMeVersusMND
Cystic Fibrosis Association Central Alan Dunn alanfdunn@gmail.com http://www.sacfa.org.za
Rethabile Kinderhuis Klerksdorp Loraine Nel nellc1@telkom.co.za http://
Organ Donor Foundation Gillian Walker gillian@odf.org.za http://www.odf.org.za
Ride4Tur Development Team Percy Modiselle percymod@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/TshwaneUrban/?ref=br_rs
Abraham Kriel Childcare Ricci Boonzaaier rb@abrahamkriel.org http://www.abrahamkriel.org
Rizpah/CMR Witbank Children Homes Anet Jansen anette@xsinet.co.za http://
Joint Aid Management (South Africa) Sindile Kubayi sindile.kubayi@jamint.com http://www.jamsa.co.za
Vuleka School Brandon Townsend marketing@vulekaschool.co.za http://www.vulekaschool.co.za
Shumbashaba Community Trust Diana Haag dianah@shumbashaba.co.za http://www.shumbashaba.co.za
Taking CHARGE for Dan the Man Sherry Moldenhauer help.takingcharge@gmail.com https://www.facebook.com/danieltakingcharge/?pnref=story
Baragwanath Paediatric Burns Unit Linda Kloeck linda@resus.co.za http://www.baraburnsunit.co.za
auSOMEtism Shaun Murphy shaun@ausometism.co.za https://www.facebook.com/ausometism/
Thabang Children's Project Admire Kamonere admin@thabang.org http://www.thabang.org
Wycliffe SA (Team Africa Alive) Marvin Oliver marvinjoliver@gmail.com http://www.wycliffe.org.za
Botshabelo Michelle Hinrichsen michelle@botshabelo.co.za http://www.botshabelo.co.za
Ribbons4Roses Ampie Fourie ampie@ribbons4roses.co.za http://www.ribbons4roses.co.za
Refilwe Community Project Jay Strydom ceo@refilwe.org http://www.refilwe.org
Vetbooks for Africa Natasha van Tonder info@vetbooksforafrica.org http://www.vetbooksforafrica.org
Prostate Cancer Foundation Andrew Oberhozer ceo@prostate-ca.co.za http://www.prostate-ca.co.za
Seed of Africa Sally Viljoen sally@seedsofafrica.co.za http://www.seedsofafrica.co.za
Amcare Nadine Mason marketing@amcare.org.za http://www.amcare.org.za
Campus Crusade for Christ South Africa Johan Myburgh johanm@cccsa.org.za http://www.cccsa.org.za
Wheel Well Thabang Moye thabang@xperien.co.za http://www.wheelwell.co.za
Ranties - SPCA Alberton Flippie van den Berg johannhaasbroek@yahoo.com http://
SANParks Honorary Rangers William Harmse williamharmse@gmail.com http://www.sanparksvolunteers.org
Toks & Tjops Enes Tavener enestsa@outlook.com http://
Love Life; Gift Life Travis Kruger fawn@lovelifegiftlife.co.za http://www.lovelifegiftlife.co.za
Border Collie Rescue Gillian Pearson gillypearson1@gmail.com http://www.bordercollierescue.co.za
Little Eden Society Nichollette Muthige marketing@littleeden.org.za http://www.littleeden.org.za
Headway Gauteng Damien Wasowicz dw4headway@gmail.com http://www.headwaygauteng.co.za
Rays of Hope Charis Erasmus charis@raysofhope.co.za http://www.raysofhope.co.za
Golder Trust for Orphans Aisling Dower adower@golder.com http://www.golder.org
Highveld Horse Care Unit Joanne Pursey joanne@horsecare.org.za http://www.horsecare.org.za
Kids Haven Susan Daly sued@kidshaven.co.za http://www.kidshaven.org.za